Mount Vernon (Fortville) ended two-time defending Class 5A state champion New Palestine’s 30-game, 65-game regular season, and 48-game Hoosier Heritage Conference winning streaks with a 35-22 victory.

Indianapolis Cathedral snapped defending Class 3A state champ Indianapolis Bishop Chatard’s 14-game winning streak with 39-20 triumph.

West Lafayette ended defending Class 1A state champion Lafayette Central Catholic’s 12-game winning streak with a 47-14 decision.

East Noble saw its 19-game regular season winning streak come to an end with 30-24 setback to Penn.

Salem snapped Brownstown Central’s 22-game Mid-Southern Conference winning streak with 14-12 triumph.

Frankfort ended its 15-game Sagamore Conference losing streak end with a 40-14 win over Southmont.

Western Boone had its 14-game Sagamore Conference winning streak end with 41-14 loss to Tri-West.

John Glenn’s 10-7 win over Jimtown was the first in the series since 1990.

Eric Moore celebrated his 200th career win at Center Grove with the Trojans’ 35-12 decision over Indianapolis Ben Davis.

The pairings for the 48th annual IHSAA state football tournament will be released on October 8.


Columbus North at Mount Healthy (Ohio), East Chicago Central at Hammond Gavit, Frankfort at Lebanon, Hammond at Hammond Clark, Hammond Morton at Gary West, Indiana Deaf at Anderson Prep Academy, Michigan City at Merrillville, Phalen Academy at Indianapolis Scecina, River Forest at Whiting, Southern Wells at Woodlan


September 18: East Chicago Central at River Forest, Indianapolis Manual at Scott County (Kentucky), South Bend Riley at Gary West

September 19: Crossroads Christian (Illinois) at Noblesville Home School


Hammond Bishop Noll has a 39-game losing streak.

South Newton has a 34-game losing skid.

Connersville has a 26-game losing streak.

Elwood has dropped 24 games in a row.

Evansville Harrison and Pike Central have lost 20 games in a row.

Shelbyville has suffered 19 straight losses.

Perry Meridian has dropped 18 straight contests.

Fountain Central and Northwestern have a 15-game losing streak.

Bellmont has lost 13 straight games

Indianapolis Shortridge has a 12-game losing streak.

Anderson has lost 11 straight contests.

Madison has a 10-game losing skid.

Anderson Prep Academy, Fort Wayne South and Rushville have lost nine games in a row.

Cloverdale, Jennings County and Woodlan have dropped eight games in a row.


Southwood 27, Lafayette Jeff 21, Valparaiso 19, South Adams 15, Indianapolis Lutheran 15, Eastern (Greentown) 14, Eastside 10, Heritage Christian 9, Indianapolis Cathedral 8, Covenant Christian 7, Carroll (Fort Wayne) 6, Kankakee Valley 6, Lapel 6, Merrillville 6, Mooresville 6, North Montgomery 6, Tri-Central 6, Western 6, Columbia City 5, Evansville Central 5, Mishawaka Marian 5, Parke Heritage 5, Silver Creek 5, South Vermillion 5


South Newton 30, Bellmont 24, Connersville 23, Elwood 21, Evansville Harrison 18, Pike Central 18, Shelbyville 17, Perry Meridian 16, Eastern (Pekin) 14, Indianapolis Shortridge 14, Northwestern 13, Fountain Central 13, Prairie Heights 11, Anderson 10, Madison 9, Anderson Prep Academy 8. Fort Wayne South 8, Rushville 8, Jennings County 7, Cloverdale 7, North Central (Farmersburg) 7, Rochester 7, Woodlan 7


Tell City is 4-0 for the first time since 1992.

Eastside is 4-0 for the first time since 1999.

North Central (Indianapolis) is 4-0 for the first time since 1998.

Evansville North is 4-0 for the first time since 2003.

South Vermillion and North Montgomery are 4-0 for the first time since 2009.

Mount Vernon (Fortville) is 4-0 for the first time since 2011.

Kankakee Valley is 4-0 for the first time since 2012.

Western is 4-0 for the first time since 2013.

Carroll (Fort Wayne) and Jasper are 4-0 for the first time since 2014.

Center Grove, South Putnam, and Tri-Central are 4-0 for the first time since 2015.

Indianapolis Cathedral is 4-0 for the first time since 2016.

Elkhart is 3-0 for the first time since 1971.

Knightstown is 3-0 for the first time since 2005.

Fairfield is 3-0 for the first time since 2012.

Plymouth is 0-4 for the first time since 1938.

Scottsburg is 0-4 for the first time since 1983.

North Vermilion is 0-4 for the first time since 2001.

Northeastern is 0-4 for the first time since 2005.

Lawrence Central is 0-4 for the first time since 2007.

Woodlan is 0-4 for the first time since 2012.

North Putnam and South Bend Washington are 0-4 for the first time since 2013.

Hagerstown and West Noble are 0-4 for the first time since 2015.

Jennings County is 0-4 for the first time since 2016.

Mishawaka is 0-3 for the first time since 1993.


Columbus East has run off 91 consecutive Hoosier Hills Conference victories.

East Central has won 40 straight Eastern Indiana Conference games.

Pioneer has come out on top in 38 straight Hoosier North Conference games.

Lafayette Jeff has won 27 straight North Central Conference games.

Southwood has claimed 23 consecutive Three Rivers Conference wins.

East Noble has claimed 19 straight Northeast 8 Conference games.

Valparaiso has a 19-game Duneland Athletic Conference winning streak.

Decatur Central has 15 straight Mid-State Conference wins.

Indianapolis Lutheran has won 12 consecutive Indiana Crossroads Conference games.

Eastern (Greentown) has a 10-game Hoosier Heartland Conference winning streak.

South Adams has won 10 Allen County Conference games in a row.


Benton Central has lost 35 consecutive Hoosier Conference games.

South Bend Clay has suffered 28 straight Northern Indiana Conference losses.

Caston has lost 28 straight Hoosier North Conference games.

Crawford County has lost 24 straight Patoka Lake Conference contests.

Goshen has lost 20 consecutive Northern Lakes Conference games.

Bellmont has lost 20 straight Northeast 8 Conference games.

Edinburgh has dropped 18 Mid-Indiana Conference games in a row.

Elwood has a 16-game Central Indiana Conference losing streak.

Evansville Harrison has a 16-game Southern Indiana Conference losing streak.

Pike Central has lost 14 straight Pocket Conference games.

Shelbyville has a 13-game Hoosier Heritage Conference losing streak.

Perry Meridian has a 13-game Mid-State Conference losing skid.

Fountain Central has lost 10 consecutive Wabash River Conference contests.


Larry “Bud” Wright (Sheridan) 426, Russ Radtke (Knox) 370, Mike Gillin (Mooresville) 333, Bob Gaddis (Columbus East) 324, John Hart (Brownsburg) 303, Jeff Adamson (Eastbrook) 283, Reed May (Brownstown Central) 270, Eric Moore (Center Grove) 248, Kevin O’Shea (Indianapolis North Central) 236, Mark Bless (Avon) 234, Mike Johnson (Logansport) 228,Mike Goebel (Evansville Mater Dei) 228, George Gilbert (Clinton Central) 225, Bart Curtis (Warsaw) 220, John Hendryx (Winamac) 218, Brian Moore (Parke Heritage) 209, Ott Hurrle (Indianapolis Scecina) 203.

CLOSING IN ON 200 WINS: Sherwood Haydock (Fort Wayne Wayne) 196, Tim Able (Triton Central) 190, Cory Yeoman (Penn) 182.

CLOSING IN ON 100 WINS: Ron Qualls (Anderson) 99, Luke Amstutz (East Noble) 99, Michael Mosser (Adams Central) 95, Nate Andrews (NorthWood) 94, Jake Gilbert (Westfield) 93, Monte Mawhorter (West Noble) 93, Bill Peebles (Indianapolis Cathedral) 93, Chris Coll (Franklin) 92, Jim Hummer (Fremont) 90, Kyle Ralph (New Palestine) 90.