IRVING, Texas (Jan. 24, 2024) – The National Football Foundation (NFF) & College Hall of Fame highlighted today that six former NFF National Scholar-Athletes, including Campell Trophy® recipients Jack Campbell and Charlie Kolar, will play this weekend in the AFC and NFC Championship Games:

  • #65 Jake Brendel (UCLA) – San Francisco 49ers, OL, National Scholar-Athlete Class of 2015
  • #66 Mike Caliendo (Western Michigan) – Kansas City Chiefs, OL, National Scholar-Athlete Class of 2021
  • #46 Jack Campbell (Iowa) – Detroit Lions, LB, 2022 Campbell Trophy® recipient
  • #97 Aidan Hutchinson (Michigan) – Detroit Lions, DL, National Scholar-Athlete Class of 2021
  • #88 Charlie Kolar (Iowa State) – Baltimore Ravens, TE, 2021 William V. Campbell Trophy® recipient
  • #23 Drue Tranquill (Notre Dame) – Kansas City Chiefs, LB, National Scholar-Athlete Class of 2018

“It’s always fun to watch former NFF National Scholar-Athletes and Campbell Trophy® recipients excel in the NFL, and it’s especially exciting to see them compete during the NFL Playoffs,” said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell. “All six of these players represent everything right with our great game. We hope all the young aspiring NFL players will follow in the footsteps of these six, competing with the same ferocity in the classroom that it takes to win on the field.”

Both games will take place Sunday, Jan. 28. The Chiefs (Tranquill) at Ravens (Kolar) play at 3 p.m. ET on CBS. The Lions (Campbell, Hutchinson) at 49ers (Brendel, Caliendo) play at 6:30 p.m. ET on FOX. Super Bowl LVIII will be played on Feb. 11, 2024, at Allegiant Stadium in Paradise, Nevada, on CBS at 6:30 p.m. ET.

First bestowed in 1959, the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards, Presented by Fidelity Investments, have become one of the most prestigious academic honors in all of college sports, distributing $12.6 million to 922 outstanding individuals since its inception.

Added to the NFF Scholar-Athlete program in 1990, The William V. Campbell Trophy® has become college football’s premier scholar-athlete award, annually recognizing an individual as the absolute best in the nation for his combined academic success, football performance and exemplary leadership.