Michigan State, Minnesota and Penn State Earn Three Stars Honors

DeRidder backstopped the Spartans to a 1-1-0 weekend against Penn State to earn First Star accolades


First Star

Drew DeRidder, Michigan State

G – Jr. – Fenton, Mich.


  • Made 64 saves, posted a 1.00 GAA and a .970 save percentage to help the Spartans go 1-1-0 against Penn State
  • Made 28 stops in a 1-0 loss on Sunday, before making 36 saves in the 5-1 win on Monday
  • Leading 3-1 going into the third period, DeRidder fended off all 13 shots to help propel the Spartans to a 5-1 victory
  • Earns his fourth career weekly award and third of the season
  • Last Michigan State honorees: Drew DeRidder (First Star), Tommy Miller (Second Star), Tommy Apap (Third Star) on Dec. 23, 2020


Second Star

Sampo Ranta, Minnesota

F – Jr. – Naantali, Finland


  • Recorded three goals on the weekend to lead the Big Ten and help top-ranked Minnesota sweep Arizona State
  • Opened the second half of the season on Sunday by tallying his second career two-goal game, leading the Gophers to a 4-1 victory
  • Tallied his third goal of the series in Monday’s 6-4 win to help Minnesota advance to 10-0-0 on the season for the first time in more than 80 years
  • Claims his third career weekly honor and first of the season
  • Last Minnesota honorees: Jack LaFontaine (First Star) and Ben Meyers (Third Star) on Dec. 15, 2020


Third Star

Oskar Autio, Penn State

G – Jr. – Espoo, Finland


  • Backed the Nittany Lions in their 1-0 shutout win against Michigan State on Sunday
  • Recorded his third career blank sheet and first against a conference opponent after stopping 23 of 23 shots
  • Tallied Penn State’s first Big Ten shutout since Dec. 2, 2017, at Ohio State
  • Claims his first career weekly honor
  • Last Penn State honoree: Alex Limoges (Second Star) on Dec. 15, 2020


2020-21 Big Ten Hockey Three Stars


Nov. 17       

First Star: Strauss Mann, Jr., G, MICH

Second Star: Robbie Beydoun, Sr., G, WIS

Third Star: Kent Johnson, Fr., F, MICH


Nov. 25       

First Star: Cole Caufield, So., F, WIS

Second Star: Drew DeRidder, Jr., G, MSU

Third Star: Thomas Bordeleau, Fr., F, MICH


Dec. 1          

First Star: Ryan Bischel, So., G, ND

Second Star: Tommy Nappier, Sr.,G, OSU

Third Star: Tavis Treloar, Fr., F, OSU


Dec. 8          

First Star: Scott Reedy, Sr., F, MINN

Second Star: Cameron Rowe, Fr., G, WIS

Third Star: Jack LaFontaine, Sr., G, MINN


Dec. 15     

First Star: Jack LaFontaine, Sr., G, MINN

Second Star: Alex Limoges, Sr., F, PSU

Third Star: Ben Meyers, So., F, MINN


Dec. 23   

First Star: Drew DeRidder, Jr., G, MSU

Second Star: Tommy Miller,  Sr., D, MSU

Third Star: Tommy Apap, Sr., F, MSU


Jan. 5   

First Star: Drew DeRidder, Jr., G, MSU

Second Star: Sampo Ranta, Jr., F, MINN

Third Star: Oskar Autio, Jr., G, PSU