Ali Patberg Named To 2022 Nancy Lieberman Award Preseason Watch List

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – Graduate student guard Ali Patberg has been named to the 2022 Nancy Lieberman Award preseason watch list for the third-consecutive season on Monday afternoon, announced by the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association.

Patberg is a two-time Lieberman Award Top 10 finalist (2020 & 2021) and returns for her seventh and final season of college eligibility. Last season, the Columbus, Ind. native led the Hoosiers to a NCAA Elite Eight appearance where she averaged 14.0 points, 3.9 rebounds, 3.7 assists and held a +2.0 assist-to-turnover ratio. She was named an All-Big Ten second team honoree last season in addition to appearing on the Jersey Mikes Naismith Trophy top 50, Wade Trophy watchlist and Wooden Award watch list in 2021-22.

Now in its 23rd year, the award recognizes the top point guard in women’s NCAA Division I college basketball. A national committee of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates. To be considered for this prestigious award, candidates exhibit the floor leadership, playmaking and ball-handling skills of Class of 1996 Hall-of-Famer Nancy Lieberman.

College basketball fans are encouraged to participate in Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies in each of the three rounds. In late January, the watch list of 20 players for the 2022 Nancy Liberman Point Guard of the Year Award will be narrowed to 10 and then in late February to just five. In March the five finalists will be presented to Ms. Lieberman and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee where a winner will be selected.

The winner of the 2022 Nancy Lieberman Award will be presented on a to be determined date, along with the other four members of the Women’s Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Ann Meyers Drysdale Shooting Guard Award, the Cheryl Miller Small Forward Award, the Katrina McClain Power Forward Award and the Lisa Leslie Center Award, in addition to the Men’s Starting Five.

For more information on the 2022 Nancy Lieberman Award and the latest updates, log onto and follow @hoophall and #LiebermanAward on Twitter and Instagram. Starting Five Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies will go live on Friday, October 29.

2022 Nancy Lieberman Point Guard of the Year Award Candidates*
Dyaisha Fair Buffalo
Ali Patberg Indiana
Caitlin Clark Iowa
Jazmine Massengill Kentucky
Hailey Van Lith Louisville
Ashley Owusu Maryland
Amy Dilk Michigan
Myah Taylor Mississippi St.
Anastasia Hayes Mississippi St.
Raina Perez NC State
Diamond Johnson NC State
Veronica Burton Northwestern
Te-Hina Pao Pao Oregon
Lauren Park-Lane Seton Hall
Destanni Henderson South Carolina
Lauren Heard TCU
Gina Conti UCLA
Paige Bueckers UConn
Dru Gylten Utah
Katia Gallegos UTEP

*Players can play their way onto and off the list at any point in the 2021-22 season

About Nancy Lieberman:
Playing hoops on the rough-and-tumble Harlem courts, Brooklyn-bred Nancy Lieberman learned to play a physical, aggressive style of basketball unlike other women of her time. As a 5’10” point guard, Lieberman was taller than many of the guards of her era, and her ability to drive to the hoop, dish out assists, and grab hard-fought rebounds served her well during her stellar career. She compiled over 2,400 points, 1,100 rebounds and 961 assists as she led the Lady Monarchs to a 125-15 record, 1 WNIT Title and back to back National Championships in 1979 and 1980 (102-6 her last 3 years).

Before her illustrious career began at ODU, Nancy made the 1975 USA Pan Am team that won the Gold Medal in Mexico City she was a HS Jr at Far Rockaway HS at the time. 1976 as a member of the USA’s first Women’s Olympic which won the Silver Medal. Team Lieberman made history by being the youngest Olympian in basketball ever, male or female (which still stand today) Lieberman led Old Dominion University to back-to-back AIAW national championships in 1979 and 1980. She was twice named as the Wade Trophy winner — a basketball first as the nation’s top female athlete during those two seasons, 3-time All-American. Lieberman was the two-time winner of the Broderick Cup as well., Lieberman played professionally in the first women’s pro league in the WBL 1980-81 and in 1984 in the WABA. Earning WBL MVP honors with the Dallas Diamonds in 1981, she led the team to the 1984 WABA championship and was league MVP.

In 1986, she signed to be the first women to play in a men’s professional league in the USBL with the Springfield Fame, and in 1987 with the Long Island Knights. She joined the 1987 Harlem Globetrotter world tour with the Washington Generals. 1997 Lieberman made history in the inaugural season of the WNBA, playing for the Phoenix Mercury at the age of 39 and in 2008 playing for the Detroit Shock at age 50! Her coaching career started in 1998 as the Head Coach/GM for the Detroit Shock taking the Shock to the playoffs in year 2. In 2011, she was the first women Head Coach hired in the NBA D-League for the Dallas Mavericks affiliate the Texas Legends and led them to the playoffs. In 2015, she became only the second women hired as an Assistant Coach in the NBA with the Sacramento Kinds. She was named a recipient of the 2017 Mannie Jackson Basketball’s Human Spirit Award for her on-going philanthropic work across the country through her Nancy Lieberman Charities, changing the lives of underserved youth across the country. In 2018 Nancy Lieberman became the 1st Female Head Coach in a Men’s Professional League with the BIG3 League for team Power. Nancy lead team Power to a 2018 Championship victory and was selected Coach of the Year, becoming the first female in history to be awarded Coach of the Year. Follow Nancy on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook @Nancylieberman and go to for more information.