Big Ten Hockey Preseason Honors
Minnesota selected as the preseason favorite by coaches

ROSEMONT, Ill. – Minnesota was tabbed the favorite in the 2020-21 Big Ten hockey preseason coaches’ poll, the conference announced on Monday. The coaches also selected Preseason All-Big Ten teams, highlighted by a pair of 2019-20 individual award winners.

Michigan was selected second in the preseason poll, with Notre Dame and Ohio State tying for third, Wisconsin taking fifth, Michigan State placing sixth and defending Big Ten Champion Penn State rounding out the poll in seventh.

The Preseason All-Big Ten teams are comprised of six players on each team: three forwards, two defensemen and one goaltender. All seven schools were represented on the Preseason All-Big Ten teams, led by Michigan and Minnesota with four honorees each. Thirteen standouts who earned All-Big Ten accolades last season are featured on the preseason teams, including 2020 Big Ten Goaltender of the Year Strauss Mann from Michigan and Wisconsin’s Cole Caufield, the 2020 Big Ten Freshman of the Year and Scoring Champion.

The list also includes eight students who were Academic All-Big Ten honorees last season in Michigan’s Mann, Michigan State’s Dennis Cesana, Minnesota’s Sammy Walker, Notre Dame’s Matt Hellickson and Spencer Stastney, Ohio State’s Quinn Preston and Gustaf Westlund, and Penn State’s Alex Limoges.

The complete Preseason All-Big Ten teams, as well as the preseason poll, can be found below.

2020-21 Preseason All-Big Ten Hockey Team
As selected by Big Ten coaches

Sammy Walker, F, MINN
Alex Limoges, F, PSU
Cole Caufield, F, WIS
Cameron York, D, MICH
Dennis Cesana, D, MSU
Strauss Mann, G, MICH

Johnny Beecher, F, MICH
Mitch Lewandowski, F, MSU
Brannon McManus, F, MINN
Jackson LaCombe, D, MINN
Spencer Stastney, D, ND
Tommy Nappier, G, OSU

Ben Meyers, F, MINN
Quinn Preston, F, OSU
Gustaf Westlund, F, OSU
Dylan Holloway, F, WIS
Owen Power, D, MICH
Matt Hellickson, D, ND
Ty Emberson, D, WIS

1. Minnesota
2. Michigan
3. Notre Dame
Ohio State
5. Wisconsin
6. Michigan State
7. Penn State