Big Ten Announces 2021 Postgraduate Scholarship Recipients

ROSEMONT, Ill. – The Big Ten Conference office announced its annual postgraduate scholarship recipients on Wednesday, as two student-athletes from each of the 14 Big Ten institutions who plan to continue their education at a graduate degree program were each awarded a $7,500 scholarship, based primarily on academic achievements.

This year’s recipients, who represent 19 different sports, will continue their education in a variety of different disciplines including applied science engineering; biology; biomedical engineering; chemical and biochemical engineering; child, youth & family studies; computer sciences; dentistry; economics; exercise science; finance/accounting; geographic information science; human physiology; kinesiology; literature; mathematics; mechanical engineering; neuroscience/pre-medicine; plant sciences and psychology.

Each Big Ten institution developed its own on-campus selection process when awarding the scholarships. Students must have maintained at least a 3.2 grade-point-average, demonstrated leadership qualities, served as an excellent role model and intended to continue their academic work beyond their baccalaureate degree at a graduate degree program. The scholarship will be used to pay expenses of the student’s postgraduate education to include such related activities as research and teaching, as well as other expenses such as tuition, fees, room and board, required course-related supplies and books. In order to retain the scholarship, the recipient must be accepted into a full-time graduate degree program within three years from the fall semester after selection.

The complete list of 2021 Big Ten Postgraduate Scholarship recipients can be found below.

Zach Griffith, Men’s Basketball
Nikki Cast, Women’s Track & Field/Cross Country

Ben Hibbert, Men’s Track & Field
Abigail Bogovich, Rowing

Kaleb Young, Wrestling
Tia Saunders, Women’s Track & Field

Baxter Hunter, Wrestling
Julia Reicin, Women’s Cross Country/Track & Field

Justin Murphy, Men’s Gymnastics
Briana Nelson, Women’s Track & Field

Michigan State
Austin Kamer, Men’s Ice Hockey
Caroline Szabo, Women’s Tennis

Conner Olson, Football
Jessica Lee, Women’s Golf

Evan Hymanson, Men’s Gymnastics
Hannah Thiele, Women’s Golf

Spencer Howard, Men’s Soccer
Dhruthi Reddy, Women’s Fencing

Ohio State
Jacob Wareti, Men’s Tennis
Jordan Fry, Women’s Volleyball

Penn State
Mark Porter, Men’s Track & Field
Alissa Bonsall, Women’s Gymnastics

Gabriel Gomez, Men’s Swimming
Leony Boudreau, Women’s Basketball

Justin Davidovicz, Football
Sophia Catuogno, Rowing

Conor Perreault, Men’s Cross Country/Track & Field
Alyssa Gromala, Women’s Golf