Ali Patberg Named to 2021 Jersey Mike’s Naismith Trophy Top 50 Watch List


BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – Senior guard Ali Patberg has been named to the 2021 Jersey Mike’s Naismith Trophy Top 50 preseason watch list, announced on Tuesday by the Atlanta Tipoff Club.


Patberg is coming off a 2019-20 season where she earned All-Big Ten First Team honoree and WBCA All-American honorable mention selection. She returns for her sixth season of eligibility this season after an impressive junior campaign in which she led the team in scoring with 15.6 points per game. She also led the program with 5.3 assists per game (third in the Big Ten) and averaged 4.6 rebounds while shooting 49 percent from the floor. As a junior, she was a finalist for the Nancy Lieberman Award in 2019-20 and was featured on watch lists including the Wooden Award, Naismith Trophy and Ann Meyers Drysdale Award. She is on track to hit 1,000 career points scored at Indiana – coming in to the season with 989 points scored in her two seasons in Cream and Crimson.


The Columbus, Ind. native is also a nominee this season as a preseason All-Big Ten honoree and 2021 Nancy Lieberman Award watch list. She repeats as a Naismith Trophy honoree from last season as was a preseason and midseason candidate.


The midseason 30 team will be announced in early February; players who do not make the watch list are still eligible to be selected for the midseason 30 team. Then, the competition will be narrowed down to 10 national semifinalists on March 2, 2021, and four finalists will be named on March 19, 2021. The winner of the 2021 Jersey Mike’s Naismith Trophy for Women’s Player of the Year will be announced on April 3, 2021.


The 2020-21 NCAA women’s basketball season is slated to begin on November 25 with the Hoosiers still working out details for their final schedule. More information about the season will be made available when it’s ready on


Aliyah Boston So. F South Carolina SEC
Sam Brunelle So. F Notre Dame ACC
Paige Bueckers Fr. G UConn BIG EAST
DiJonai Carrington Sr. G Baylor Big 12
Jessika Carter Jr. F/C Mississippi St. SEC
Charli Collier Jr. F/C Texas Big 12
Zia Cooke So. G South Carolina SEC
Elissa Cunane Jr. C NC State ACC
Rennia Davis Sr. G/F Tennessee SEC
Chelsea Dungee Sr. G Arkansas SEC
Dana Evans Sr. G Louisville ACC
Aleah Goodman Sr. G Oregon State Pac-12
Vivian Gray Sr. G Texas Tech Big 12
Arella Guirantes Sr. G Rutgers Big Ten
Lauren Heard Sr. G TCU Big 12
Lexi Held Jr. G DePaul BIG EAST
Naz Hillmon Jr. F Michigan Big Ten
Rhyne Howard Jr. G Kentucky SEC
Lexie Hull Jr. G Stanford Pac-12
Rickea Jackson So. F Mississippi St. SEC
Ashley Joens Jr. G/F Iowa State Big 12
Haley Jones So. G Stanford Pac-12
N’Dea Jones Sr. F Texas A&M SEC
Taylor Jones So. F Oregon State Pac-12
Dorka Juhász Jr. F Ohio State Big Ten
Ayoka Lee So. C Kansas State Big 12
Kiara Lewis Sr. G Syracuse ACC
Natasha Mack Sr. F Oklahoma State Big 12
Tiana Mangakahia Sr. G Syracuse ACC
Aari McDonald Sr. G Arizona Pac-12
Nancy Mulkey Sr. C Rice C-USA
Olivia Nelson-Ododa Jr. F UConn BIG EAST
Michaela Onyenwere Sr. F UCLA Pac-12
Ashley Owusu So. G Maryland Big Ten
Ali Patberg Sr.  G Indiana Big Ten
Chelsey Perry Sr. F Tennessee-Martin OVC
Lasha Petree Jr. G Bradley MVC
Alissa Pili So. F USC Pac-12
Lindsey Pulliam Sr. G Northwestern Big Ten
Cate Reese Jr. F Arizona Pac-12
DiDi Richards Sr. G Baylor Big 12
Destiny Slocum Sr. G Arkansas SEC
NaLyssa Smith Jr. F Baylor Big 12
Taylor Soule Jr. F Boston College ACC
Jill Townsend Sr. G Gonzaga WCC
Maddi Utti Sr. F Fresno St. MWC
Hailey Van Lith Fr. G Louisville ACC
Evina Westbrook Jr. G UConn BIG EAST
Christyn Williams Jr. G UConn BIG EAST
Kiana Williams Sr. G Stanford Pac-12